PDA

View Full Version : "Barik is too strong, he needs a nerf"

M0J0E
05-01-2017, 07:59 PM
-No one, ever

I cannot for the life of me fathom why Hirez is so hellbent on nerfing Barik. Since OB40 when I started playing Paladins they have given him a major nerf 3 times:

OB44 nerfed his turrets so they no longer mark enemies. This was the main reason to put down turrets in the first place, since their damage is negligible and they get destroyed very easily too. Now they're just a diversion and nothing more. As "compensation" they gave us Tinkerin', you know, that useless legendary card that nobody uses?

OB46 took away some of his basic attack damage to try and justify the existence of this same garbage legendary. He was brought down to the DPS of Torvald, except that Torvald is actually much more threatening at close range because he can CC and his attacks never miss, and is MUCH tankier to boot.

OB49 is now going to nerf the only remaining good part of his kit, the shield. I was running a loadout that maximized the duration and minimized the cooldown, and I'd always take Fortify legendary and Chronos as the first item. The result is that Barik can put the shield up, and if it doesn't get destroyed before it expires there's only 2 seconds of downtime on it. Sounds great... until you realize that 1) it's stationary and Barik has to be very careful where he places it, 2) all the maps besides Ice Mines are very flank-friendly and one of them will eventually get behind you, 3) all AOE attacks like Tyra's and Maldamba's can go through it and force everybody away from it, 4) anyone who feels like soloing Barik can just walk through the shield and kill him, because Barik's DPS is very weak, and that removes the shield immediately.