PDA

View Full Version : Burn Card system idea

zZzZz
08-13-2016, 06:52 AM
Hello everyone!

I'm still somewhat new to paladins overall; this is also my first design related post here, so i hope this kind of suggestion/thread is acceptable in this section of the forums and of use to the developers.

Motivations: I've seen a good number of players wishing that the card system had a bigger impact in the game. However, it feels like simply buffing the effects of cards is not considered a positive direction for the game.

I tried to make a couple of tweaks to the system to make the effects be more visible and tangible for players during the game-play. My goal is to make the card's effects be perceived more easily by players during the game-play, while trying not to simply buff the overall impacts of the cards balance wise.

1)Cards can be activated by pressing number from 1 to 3-4.
*Cards becoming something that you have to actively use allows you to focus your attention on them more often.
*after the activation the card's effect will remain available until they get triggered. When they get triggered that card will burn.

2)Cards have Stronger effects, but limited by either time or instances of use.
Effects from the same card are not stack-able.
It means you are buying non stack-able passive effects.
You also lose the effects on dead (but you won't lose non-activated cards on dead)
*Stronger impact, but trade offs to balance them back to what hi-rez database suggest is the best spot. In hopes to obtain a clearer yet balanced effect.
*burning cards will happen more frequently. making the possession or the lack of a card a feature that have an impact more times during a game.
*cards effects being non stack-able makes them easier to balance.

3)Cards can be acquired during the battle.
You can build a priority list for your cards in advance. When you have enough points, the card becomes available in automatic.